Skip to content

First foul ball recovered this season

April 16, 2009

One of the great experiences of going to a baseball game is trying to catch, recover, or otherwise abscomb a foul ball hit into the stands.

I would imagine 20-30 balls make it into the stands of any given game I attend.  Maybe even more.

Lefty hitter Joe Koshansky (#30, first base) bats against Red Hawks pitcher Luis Mendoza on April 14th, 2009.

Tonight was my first foul ball of the 2009 season.

Here’s how it went down.

It was around the 7th or 8th inning tonight and the game was already well out of hand. The Red Hawks were up like 16-2.

I was sitting on the third base side, Section S, first row, seat one.  My wife in seat two. Except for the score and the drunk fans behind us, it was a perfect night for baseball.

I was rather annoyed the inning before when the young woman behind me, now thoroughly inebriated, solicited the “next foul ball” from Sound’s manager/3rd base coach Don Money.  He agreed to give her the next one.

Now hold on.

This was my sixth game of the early eight game season. This was drunk-woman’s second game – in her entire life.

Sure enough. After the next inning started Don Money came out and handed her a ball.  I was hoping he’d throw it to her and maybe she would have dropped it. I would have stolen it.

Instead, later that inning, with Sound’s pitcher Littleton in relief, a Red Hawk’s batter popped up a foul pitch in section S.

The ball hit the aluminum seats a few rows behind me and everyone near the ball was too drunk to scatter quickly enough.

Being sober minded, and just, well – sober, I scurried over and recovered my first foul ball of the 2009 season.

The ball now sits proudly in the beverage holder in my center console of my MiniCooper.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

